top of page

"I am not an expert"

My name is Caitlyn Brynn Greene and I am a board game publisher and crowdfunder for Doomsday Robots Game Company. I’ve published two games so far, Bridges to Nowhere (2018) and Zoo-ography (2021) and made a combined $90,000 on Kickstarter with an additional 10K in post crowdfunding sales.

I, like you, don’t have a lot of extra money. I work full time and publish games on the side as I have energy. I really enjoy the work, but I don’t have much in the way of disposable income to invest in my business. Because of this, I’ve had to be very creative with my strategies and make sure any dollar I spend brings me maximum value. Due to this, I spent less than 3K on all initial expenses for both of my published games.


I absolutely love to talk crowdfunding and board games. I do my best to keep up with the latest trends, wins, flops, and drama. I scour board game publisher and crowdfunding forums as well as study individual campaigns for insights I can use to build my knowledge to make me a better crowdfunder. Because of this learning I've been able to push back against a lot of common wisdom and develop cost-conscious and low risk strategies instead. These have formed the basis behind what I call cozy crowdfunding.


 

The foundation of cozy crowdfunding is the development and practice of low risk, cost-conscious crowdfunding strategies to find success.

 

I started this blog because I feel strongly that seeing your game brought to life shouldn’t be an experience reserved for the economically privileged. I want to freely share my experience, the experience of other professionals, and discuss ideas for how to improve and expand crowdfunding strategies especially for those of us who don’t have a lot of excess capital lying around. Also, I don’t see nearly enough discussion around crowdfunding ethics or business discussion from an anti-capitalist perspective, so that will also be an additional focus. This blog’s working title was, ‘Comrade Caitlyn’s Creative Crowdfunding for Cash Constrained and Cost-Conscious Community’ after all.


I have good experience, and I’ll be writing from that experience, but I know enough to know there is a lot I also don’t know. So I don’t call myself an expert. I think that word means something, but too many have taken it to mean someone who has tangential experience with crowdfunding and an excess of confidence. I’ve seen many ‘experts’ through the years come and go. They jump into the crowdfunding scene promising big success at significant cost, then disappear just as quickly.


But I’m still here, plugging away trying to build on my success, and I hope something that I’ve learned can help you too. So if you are risk averse, cost-conscious, just getting started with crowdfunding, wanting to up your crowdfunding game, or are an experienced professional who enjoys musing new ideas and new perspectives, you are welcome to be a cozy crowdfunder with me.

.


2 Comments


Bez Shahriari
Bez Shahriari
Sep 19

I am also cost-conscious, but to the point that I spent about $200 on up-front costs on my first two games. I'd be really interested to know where that $3k went! To me, the idea of spending $1.5k on a game is quite intimidating.

Like
Caitlyn Greene
Caitlyn Greene
Sep 20
Replying to

Perhaps I should write up a post on how I used my original money. I'd say a significant share of it was printing prototypes for demoing.

Like
455657586_449351904726320_5609578890062237688_n.jpg

I'm Caitlyn Greene, board game publisher, crowdfunder, and the author of Cozy Crowdfunding. 

 

I believe we learn best by communicating our experiences with each other. I'd love to hear yours in the comments!

Thanks for sharing!

What's next for
Cozy Crowdfunding?

Choose one or more interesting topics
  • Facebook
  • Gamefound
bottom of page